FAN held its second qualifier of the season on Lake LBJ on Saturday, December 9, 2023. Hosted by Llano Fishing Team, presented by OT Wear, with 339 student anglers and captains attending. The morning was a bit foggy, and the afternoon was a little windy but overall the weather was absolutely beautiful! 113 teams gave it their best effort for a shot at the win and earn those crucial AOY points. These anglers fished hard for the chance to qualify for the 2023-2024 FAN Championship with over $15,000 in scholarships, prizes, and the coveted Angler(s) of the Year title.


.A black and white image of the words " not war ".A picture of the llano fishing team logo.

Bass Club of Champions showed up on Saturday Truitt Tucker and Owen Thornton with Captain Robert Tucker took the WIN with a 5-fish limit weighing 16.95lbs. They both took home a plaque, Kistler Rods, cups hosted by Llano Fishing Team and valuable points. Captain Tucker won a Gift Card. – Great job team!

Taking the second-place spot were the Round Rock High School anglers Shea Eason and Chapman Burkhart with Captain Terrence Eason. They brought 5 bass to the scales weighing 16.39lbs. They each took home a plaque, a cup hosted by Llano Fishing Team and Abu Garcia Revo X reels.

Placing third was Cooper Kennell and Eli Christian with Captain James Kennel from Bass Club of Champions. They brought in 5 fish weighing a total of 16.25lbs. They each won a $100 gift card in addition to plaques and cups hosted by Llano Fishing Team.


Kasen Piel brought this beautiful 7.58lb bass to the scale to win the one and only Big Bass award! Congratulations on a great fish. Kasen took home an awesome Kisler Rod and a cup hosted by Llano Fishing Team.

The logo for kistler on a green background.

Rounding out the top 10%

4th– Colt Roberson and Caden Labay (Liberty Hill Fishing Team)

5th– Rylan Piel and Kasen Piel (Hawks Fishing Team)

6th– Sterling Andrews and Brady Palermo (Llano Fishing Team)

7th Nolan Helms and Isaiah Saloman (Liberty Hill Fishing Team)

8th Braxton Ebner and Remington Stewart (Bass Club of Champions)

9th– Cole Landers and Jaycee Buchanan (Llano Fishing Team)

10th– Brayden Warren and Jaxon Shepard (Gatesville Hornets)

11thEthan Coleman and Dominic Ortega (Bass Club of Champions)

12thTy Gass and Ethan Del Rosario (Llano Fishing Team)

Full results HERE

Congratulations to the Captain Award Drawing winner who won gift cards.

With Braxton Ebner (Boerne Fishing Team) and Remington Stewart’s (Bass Club of Champions) 8th place finished they have moved into the top position in the Angler of the Year Standings with 1989 points each. Four anglers tied for 2nd place with 1984 points.

Ty Gass – Llano Fishing Team

Ethan Del Rosario – Liberty Hill Fishing Team

Brady Palermo – Llano Fishing Team

Sterling Andrews – Llano Fishing Team


Angler-of-the-Year Scholarship Awards: A $1,500 scholarship will be awarded to the highest finishing Team. Plus, a custom FAN AOY Jersey, presented by OT Wear – Official Fishing Jersey for FAN.

If you are deciding where to get your team jerseys this season, check out OT Wear and ask for the FAN discount plus a chance at the OT Wear Scholarship Award.

OT Wear Scholarship Awards: OT Wear, the official jerseys of FAN, presents a $750 scholarship, along with the FAN OT Wear AOY fishing jersey, to the top finishing team of each division wearing OT Wear